Author Topic: Brother bartacker programmable work clamp lift amount?  (Read 2414 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Skunk Gear

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Skunk Gear
  • Liked: 16
  • Likes Given: 21
Brother bartacker programmable work clamp lift amount?
« on: March 01, 2017, 07:54:49 AM »
Hi all,

This may be a bad case of RTFM, but i just can't find it...

I have a Brother KE-430F bartacker and i want to lower the work clamp amount via the operation panel. I think it will save quite some "aiming" time when the work clamp is just above the material, for instance tacking molle webbing on 1000D. The full lift amount is not needed there.
It would be great if this was programmable with the preset. The only hint in the manual is this one from the section for manually / globally adjusting it:

"Adjust so that the actual maximum lift amount for the work clamp is 17 mm above the top of the needle plate when the maximum work clamp height has been set to 17 mm using the operation panel."

Does anyone of you have a clue? thanx a bunch!!
« Last Edit: March 01, 2017, 11:51:13 AM by Skunk Gear »

Gear Dynamics

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1064
    • View Profile
    • Gear Dynamics
  • Liked: 269
  • Likes Given: 267
Re: Brother bartacker programmable work clamp lift amount?
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2017, 09:06:28 AM »
You want to adjust the clamp height?

I have a 430D and I don't know how different the control panel is, but for mine you simply press the "thread/clamp" button, and the machine goes into threading mode and the number in programme window changes to "1", which is the preset for threading mode. Then you use the program arrows to cycle to number "2", which is the work clamp height adjustment, this will also now display the set height (in mm) in the secondary window. After that, you can adjust the clamp height using the up and down arrows below the secondary window.

Gear Dynamics

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1064
    • View Profile
    • Gear Dynamics
  • Liked: 269
  • Likes Given: 267
Re: Brother bartacker programmable work clamp lift amount?
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2017, 10:58:09 AM »
It's weird, I looked through the 430F manual and couldn't find a similar section. Here's a screenshot of the 430D. Should be pretty much the same steps.


Gear Dynamics

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1064
    • View Profile
    • Gear Dynamics
  • Liked: 269
  • Likes Given: 267
Re: Brother bartacker programmable work clamp lift amount?
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2017, 11:06:19 AM »
As a side note, the clamps have very aggressive teeth on the bottom, so be sure to leave a little wiggle room, or you'll be snagging your material every time you try and insert it. I have mine a set at 14mm (which looks more like 12mm). I feel like it's the optimal height for everything from tacking PALS, to doubled over scuba belts.

Skunk Gear

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Skunk Gear
  • Liked: 16
  • Likes Given: 21
Re: Brother bartacker programmable work clamp lift amount?
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2017, 11:37:37 AM »
Thanx a lot for your replies.

I just tried your steps on the 430F, but when I press the thread/clamp button, all fields are filled with flats (-) and there's actually no buttons on the control panel that respond at all. I also tried holding down the button etc. Combining the fact that there's nothing in the 430F manual, except for that rudimentary line from my first post, it looks like this feature is not on the machine... which seems really strange to me, since this machine is of a later build.

Skunk Gear

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Skunk Gear
  • Liked: 16
  • Likes Given: 21
Re: Brother bartacker programmable work clamp lift amount?
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2017, 11:44:00 AM »
In the 430F brochure it says:

"Since the work clamp lift amount can be set in two steps, it contributes to enhanced productivity"

http://www.walkersotech.co.nz/catalogue/brochures/ke430f.pdf

This looks like your 430D method....aaaahhhhhh  :o :o

I'll try to get in touch with a rep from Brother about this.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2017, 11:47:12 AM by Skunk Gear »

Gear Dynamics

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1064
    • View Profile
    • Gear Dynamics
  • Liked: 269
  • Likes Given: 267
Re: Brother bartacker programmable work clamp lift amount?
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2017, 12:38:08 PM »
That's odd. Your panel even has a the same button with the picture of the threading/clamp height. You'd think they'd change the button, and omit the clamp height image if that function was removed.

Skunk Gear

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Skunk Gear
  • Liked: 16
  • Likes Given: 21
Re: Brother bartacker programmable work clamp lift amount?
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2017, 12:50:08 PM »
My thoughts exactly...

And one more strange thing:

In the 430F manual (and the newer 430FX it looks the same) at the control panel explanation section:
5-1. Name and function of each operation panel item:

(6) THREAD/CLAMP key
Used to switch to threading mode. (ONLY THAT!)

(14) SELECT key
Used to switch the menu display (pattern No., X-scale and Y-scale, sewing speed, work clamp/button clamp lift amount, counter).

When cycling through the parameters with the SELECT key,..there's no clamp lift amount available.
very strange...



WhiskeyTwoFour

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • PMs off- forumATwtfidea.com
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 295
  • Likes Given: 52
Re: Brother bartacker programmable work clamp lift amount?
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2017, 12:52:43 PM »
I understand you're running an F.  This is a quick vid of the D designation.


Skunk Gear

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Skunk Gear
  • Liked: 16
  • Likes Given: 21
Re: Brother bartacker programmable work clamp lift amount?
« Reply #9 on: March 01, 2017, 12:57:02 PM »
thanx,

That's indeed the same method as Gear Dynamics describes. That doesn't work on the 430F...all parameters go (-)  :-[

Stone

  • Stone Photo Gear
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
    • View Profile
    • Stone Photo Gear
  • Liked: 20
  • Likes Given: 10
Re: Brother bartacker programmable work clamp lift amount?
« Reply #10 on: March 01, 2017, 02:42:38 PM »
Can you rig up a laser pointer to mark a "center point"? Then you know where to place your material, being aligned by the laser point? I know some crosscut saws are employing laser lines now.

Just a thought

Gear Dynamics

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1064
    • View Profile
    • Gear Dynamics
  • Liked: 269
  • Likes Given: 267
Re: Brother bartacker programmable work clamp lift amount?
« Reply #11 on: March 01, 2017, 02:45:15 PM »
I thought about the laser lines too. That would be great. There are automatic grommet machines with this function too.

Skunk Gear

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Skunk Gear
  • Liked: 16
  • Likes Given: 21
Re: Brother bartacker programmable work clamp lift amount?
« Reply #12 on: March 01, 2017, 03:16:10 PM »
That's a great idea! I'll try that, I still have some el-cheapo laser pens (cat's toys) lying around. I'll try to clamp one on there and post the results

thanx!

Skunk Gear

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Skunk Gear
  • Liked: 16
  • Likes Given: 21
Re: Brother bartacker programmable work clamp lift amount?
« Reply #13 on: May 03, 2017, 06:49:48 AM »
The laser turned out to be a GREAT idea guys, thanx!! I'm writing a new topic on how to build it.

I didn't get any reply back from Brother about the work clamp height...but the laser solved the problem BIG TIME.

Gear Dynamics

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1064
    • View Profile
    • Gear Dynamics
  • Liked: 269
  • Likes Given: 267
Re: Brother bartacker programmable work clamp lift amount?
« Reply #14 on: May 03, 2017, 09:37:52 AM »
Want to see! A laser would speed up alignment when doing a ton of tacks.