Author Topic: Leatherwork  (Read 2079 times)

nutmeg

• View Profile
  • Liked: 33
  • Likes Given: 27
Leatherwork
« on: March 14, 2017, 06:06:08 AM »

I recently took up leatherwork, as well as photography (in an attempt to take better photos of my sewn goods, as I'd like to transform my hobby in an actual business in the near future). I've made a few items for my own personal use:

If anyone has experience in taking quality product photos, and is willing to share some knowledge, I'd love to discuss it. I'm currently having issues taking good images of a pack made from black cordura, as I can't seem to get the details of the pack to contrast properly.

Gear Dynamics

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Gear Dynamics
  • Liked: 247
  • Likes Given: 242
Re: Leatherwork
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2017, 03:58:11 PM »
Black is always hard to photograph nicely. My recommendations below (in general)...and I'm not a professional by any means!

- Always try and use natural light or at least mimic that with the proper temp of LEDs. A cloudy day is best, if you shoot outside.
- Use a matte white background, it'll be the easiest to work with when editing.
- Use a photoshop program to adjust lighting/contrast. All I use is elements. I don't need anything super fancy, and don't have time to learn it anyway.
- To get white backgrounds, there is a bit of magic, but it's not to complicated. The key is havinging a good pictures to work with from the start

My 2 cents.

nutmeg

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2017, 07:12:36 AM »
Black is always hard to photograph nicely. My recommendations below (in general)...and I'm not a professional by any means!

- Always try and use natural light or at least mimic that with the proper temp of LEDs. A cloudy day is best, if you shoot outside.
- Use a matte white background, it'll be the easiest to work with when editing.