Author Topic: Standard Operating Procedures  (Read 2450 times)

BOgear

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • BOgear Website
  • Liked: 43
  • Likes Given: 26
Standard Operating Procedures
« on: March 16, 2015, 07:15:52 PM »
Okay mind-hive, hoping to get a discussion going for those that are wanting to take their business to the next level, and hopefully step back slightly from the manufacturing side of things.

Here is the back story:
I have been running BOgear since mid-2008. We have progressed from spare bedroom to small car garage, to double car garage, to taking up the entire downstairs of a house. We are now in commercial premises and employ 5 staff (including myself). I have always wanted to run a business, not be an employee in my own business, and so have been making moves to extract myself from the day-to-day manufacturing. I feel BOgear has come to a stage where for growth to happen I need to focus more on the business side of things, as well as the marketing side of things. I know a lot of other small business operators like myself who are in the same situation but having difficulty extracting themselves.

Conveniently my wife has snagged a job in Northern Territory of Australia and so I plan to move up there with her, away from the business. I plan to eventually roll into a FIFO (fly in, fly out) style arrangement where I spend 3 weeks in NT working on the business, and then drop back in to the studio for 1 week of catching up with the manufacturing side of things. This is the catalyst to make it happen; I cannot live away from her, nor do I wish to close BOgear. Hence I am "forced" to really make BOgear a business not a job. Blessing in disguise!

Here is where you all come in. What Standard Operating Procedures and so forth have you set up, and how do you operate your business??