Author Topic: Question about Free Gear for reviews.  (Read 1284 times)

bravodelta

• View Profile
  • Liked: 18
  • Likes Given: 24
Question about Free Gear for reviews.
« on: August 19, 2015, 02:28:53 PM »
ALCON,

I am looking for some input on this topic. I have had some one approach me asking to get a piece of gear for free and they will do a review.

Is this how it work? does anyone have any experience with gear reviews and the exchange process ......I think it would be a great opportunity but is this something like the President of Nambla offering me 1 million if I pay the exchange fees..lol

As a sysadmin my next project is to network my sewing machine.

https://www.facebook.com/MICGear

gearmaker.org

• gearmaker.org
  • Administrator
  • gearmaker.org
    • View Profile
  • Liked: 74
  • Likes Given: 38

bravodelta

• View Profile
  • Liked: 18
  • Likes Given: 24
Re: Question about Free Gear for reviews.
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2015, 06:36:52 PM »
That was a good read...lots of info, helped put me on the right track...cheers for that one.

I am pretty sure this guy is just a kid looking for free stuff...can't blame him for trying...lol }
As a sysadmin my next project is to network my sewing machine.

https://www.facebook.com/MICGear

essal

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Nora Tactical
  • Liked: 81
  • Likes Given: 44
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2015, 01:07:09 AM »
I'm one of those guys who don't really like those Youtube reviewers. I get that they potentially expose you to a lot of people, but just their messed up use of nomenclature is causing a headache every single time I watch one.

"Look at this seam, it's all triple stitched!" - seam is a single lockstitch.
"Made out of heavy ballistic Cordura" - 500D isn't ballistic, and often it's not even Cordura, it's just your regular Nylon 6,6 or even worse Nylon 6.
"this is the best product ever" - just unboxed it for the first time.
"original design by" - clearly ripped off by a high-end brand.