Author Topic: If you were starting again with nothing and knowing what you know now....  (Read 3279 times)

WPJ

• View Profile
  • Liked: 18
  • Likes Given: 106
A few questions as I'm just starting out I wanted to learn from your experiences and lessons learned.  I'm sure a number if others would like to know and share as well.

What is your start up story?

What are some of the little and major mistakes which you made along the way?

If you had the opportunity to start over from scratch knowing what you know now what would you do different or better?

Gear Dynamics

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Gear Dynamics
  • Liked: 269
  • Likes Given: 265
My advice is to try and develop a few products and really perfect those items. Try and bring something to the market that is different and unique, but most importantly, useful. If you have an idea for something in your head, really workout the details before buying everything you might think you need. It's hard to develop products from scratch and to figure out what works and doesn't work without spending money. I find that my ideas continually evolve and I usually end up with supplies that I might not need anymore. I'd like to try and minimize that. It's my goal for this year.

Alex

• View Profile
  • Liked: 14
  • Likes Given: 10
Read this book and spend two weeks reading everything you can off the Authors website. It's the industry bible. Make sure to buy it direct with the author, it's in the second link below. I think she gives you a free year to her forum with a book purchase.

http://www.amazon.com/Entrepreneurs-Guide-Sewn-Product-Manufacturing/dp/0966320840

http://www.fashion-incubator.com/

Crusader Gear

• Gear Up and Crusade On!
    • View Profile
    • www.crusadergearllc.com
  • Liked: 7
  • Likes Given: 0
I'm coming late to the party here, but I've learned a ton along the way!