Author Topic: First stitch issues  (Read 380 times)

caffeine211

• View Profile
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 0
First stitch issues
« on: April 12, 2021, 09:47:01 AM »
I'm pretty new to sewing, so maybe this is a no brainer but I can't seem to fix the issue:

On my first stitch, I always get these ugly loops on the bobbin side of the fabric. Image of the issue is linked below, showing the bobbin side of the fabric. It looks like the needle thread is getting pulled through and looping. Tension adjustments don't do anything. If I physically hold the thread in place, that sometimes works... but definitely not a solution to the problem. Structurally it probably doesn't affect anything but it's really ugly. Any thoughts on how to fix this?

Machine: Singer 1050 c
Needle: size 18
Thread: V69 nylon
Fabric: 500D Cordura (but it happens on everything, even multiple layers of webbing)

https://imgur.com/hQNsrhn

GoBliNuke

• View Profile
    • Ironbound Concepts
  • Liked: 10
  • Likes Given: 116
Re: First stitch issues
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2021, 10:01:01 AM »
Back from the old days I remember some black magic involving a round piece of newspaper and machine oil, put in the bobbin case - if the problem is the bobbin moving too slow in the beginning of cycle.

savagemann

• View Profile
    • Citizen Gear Co
  • Liked: 2
  • Likes Given: 7
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2021, 10:18:55 AM »
Have you changed the needle and rethreaded the machine?

caffeine211

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2021, 10:34:12 AM »
Back from the old days I remember some black magic involving a round piece of newspaper and machine oil, put in the bobbin case - if the problem is the bobbin moving too slow in the beginning of cycle.

Haha well hopefully it won't come to that... I'm not sure where I'd buy a newspaper these days.

Have you changed the needle and rethreaded the machine?